top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureGianna Gonzalez

Post 2: Class Disruptions in a City

Updated: Nov 4, 2018


Across the street from the IES Abroad Center there is a large lot going under construction. After a few weeks of classes, I found out that this lot once held a synagogue. This synagogue was large and beautiful, but did not have enough historical value to be considered a monument. Due to the lack of funds within the community of the synagogue, a large company bought the land and destroyed the building to create luxury apartments. The picture below that is the background to the text is the view from the main classroom where I have almost all of my classes.

In this classroom I have had conversations regarding the multi-faceted architecture that is Berlin and the paradox that is this alluring city. Buildings that look like they were built hundreds of years ago in classical form are actually neoclassic and were built ten years ago. Buildings that have bullet holes are the true originals, and are actually the ones tourists should be looking for. WWII and the fall of the Berlin Wall affected Berlin's architecture in ways that easily trick tourists or new Berliners. Along with the new Berlin and capitalism, the building of architecture mirrored the building of a new identity for Germans nationwide- all of which has been very interesting to study in class.


My classes in Berlin have discussed the headscarf debate in Germany, East and West Berlin pop culture during the GDR, comparisons in LGBTQ+ culture in Berlin and abroad, sex tourism in Berlin in the 60's, the affects of the Holocaust on German identity, and more. All of these intellectually stimulating and important conversations and topics are discussed while being constantly interrupted by the "beep. beep. beep." of the construction site.


I began writing this poem in my Art History class when we were discussing the importance of the Bauhaus school. I was learning about the theory of buildings and objects being constructed and the intentions of this art school, all while being interrupted by a new building, most likely inspired by Bauhaus, being built. Every time I look out the window, I think about "How long is now?" This existential question plastered across this large building crosses my mind more often than I would like to admit. I always think about it in the context of Berlin as a city and its history. In the poem below I explore my experience in my classroom in Berlin and how the city's architectural landscape relates to "How long is now?"



*I also use the word "klingt" which translates to "sound" in English due to the importance this word has had on me since starting this poetry project in Leipzig. There was another project titled "Klingt in Leipzig" which brought my attention to the different sounds I hear in Berlin compared to Geneva or even my home in Kennet Square, PA. The thought of "klingt" has been apparent in many of my travels so I wanted to include it in this poem. This is also the very beginning of my use of German in my poems. Stay tuned!





18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page